International Council for Traditions of Music and Dance

A Non-Governmental Organization in Formal Consultative Relations with UNESCO

Call-for-Papers: 1st Symposium of the ICTM Study Group on Audiovisual Ethnomusicology (Ljubljana, Slovenia, 24-27 August 2016)

Hosting institutionsDepartment of Musicology at the Faculty of Arts, University of Ljubljana; Institute of Ethnomusicology ZRC SAZUFoundation Imago Sloveniae; Cultural and Ethnomusicological Society Folk Slovenia; Forum of Slavic Cultures

Conference venue: City Museum of Ljubljana, Slovenia

Conference dates: 24-27 August 2016

Conference language: English

Presentation: After recognition of the Study Group by the Executive Board in July 2015, this first symposium aims to provide a scholarly venue to reflect widely on the use of audiovisual media as a tool of research, communication, preservation and sustainability in ethnomusicology. The symposium will gather international scholars interested in the multifarious implications of the topic.  The themes are chosen to prompt a broad discussion of theoretical and methodological issues, to focus on the more specific topic of the role of audiovisual archives, and to allow for participants to present outcomes of their current research.

We welcome paper proposals in relation to the following topics:

  1. Theories and Methods in Audiovisual Ethnomusicology
  2. Uses of Audiovisual Archives in Ethnomusicological Research
  3. New Research

The duration of presentations should be 20 minutes, allowing 10 more minutes for discussion. The use of audiovisual materials is encouraged in every presentation. 

The Symposium will be integrated into the yearly festival Nights in the Old Ljubljana Town, so that symposium participants will have the opportunity to screen their films to the general public.

Deadlines: Participants should send a title and an abstract of their papers (up to 300 words) to Matias Isolabella by 31 December, 2015. Selected papers will be announced by 15 March, 2016.


Proceedings are expected to be published.

Program Committee

Barley Norton – Chair – Goldsmiths University of London (United Kingdom)

Salwa El-Shawan Castelo-Branco – Universidade Nova de Lisboa (Portugal)

Amy Catlin-Jairazbhoy – UCLA University of California, Los Angeles (USA)

Svanibor Pettan – University of Ljubljana (Slovenia)

Stephen Wild – Australian National University (Australia)

Terada Yoshitaka– National Museum of Ethnology, Osaka (Japan)

Local Arrangements Committee

Svanibor Pettan - Chair

Janoš Kern

Teja Klobčar

Mojca Kovačič

Carlos Yoder

Executive Committee of the Study Group on Audiovisual Ethnomusicology:

Leonardo D’Amico – Chair

Yves Defrance - Vice Chair

Matias Isolabella - Secretary

For further information:

Leonardo D’Amico: