International Council for Traditional Music

A Non-Governmental Organization in Formal Consultative Relations with UNESCO

Home

ICTM LOGO

The International Council for Traditional Music is a scholarly organization which aims to further the study, practice, documentation, preservation, and dissemination of traditional music and dance of all countries. To these ends the Council organizes World Conferences, Symposia, Colloquia, and Fora, and publishes the Yearbook for Traditional Music and the online Bulletin of the ICTM

As a non-governmental organization in formal consultative relations with UNESCO and by means of its wide international representation and the activities of its Study Groups, the International Council for Traditional Music acts as a bond among peoples of different cultures and thus contributes to the peace of humankind.

In focus

Submissions to the 47th ICTM World Conference are now open

The deadline for submissions is 30 September 2022

The April 2022 issue of the Bulletin of the ICTM is available for download

A new issue of the Bulletin of the ICTM is available for download.

Featured Event

47th ICTM World Conference

Start: Thursday, 13 July 2023
End: Wednesday, 19 July 2023
Location: Legon, Ghana

Upcoming Events

Joint Symposium of Study Groups on Applied Ethnomusicology & Music and Dance for Latin America and the Caribbean (1)

Dates: Monday, 19 September 2022 to Saturday, 24 September 2022
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Joint Symposium of Study Groups on Applied Ethnomusicology & Music and Dance for Latin America and the Caribbean (2)

Dates: Monday, 26 September 2022 to Saturday, 1 October 2022
Location: Santiago de Chile, Chile

24th Symposium of Study Group on Historical Sources

Dates: Tuesday, 18 October 2022 to Saturday, 22 October 2022
Location: Brussels, Belgium

2nd Symposium of Study Group on Sound, Movement, and the Sciences

Dates: Wednesday, 26 October 2022 to Saturday, 29 October 2022
Location: Barcelona, Spain

1st Symposium of Study Group on Indigenous Music and Dance

Dates: Wednesday, 30 November 2022 to Saturday, 3 December 2022
Location: Melbourne, Australia; online

28th ICTM Colloquium: From Musical Bow to Zithers Along the Silk Road

Dates: Thursday, 1 December 2022 to Saturday, 3 December 2022
Location: Shanghai and online

24th Symposium of Study Group on Musical Instruments

Dates: Wednesday, 29 March 2023 to Saturday, 1 April 2023
Location: Colombo, Sri Lanka / Online

47th ICTM World Conference

Dates: Thursday, 13 July 2023 to Wednesday, 19 July 2023
Location: Legon, Ghana