International Council for Traditions of Music and Dance

A Non-Governmental Organization in Formal Consultative Relations with UNESCO

Online Gallery

Welcome to the Online Gallery (ONG) of the book Celebrating the International Council for Traditional Music: Reflections on the First Seven Decades, edited by Svanibor Pettan, Naila Ceribašić, and Don Niles. To order or download the book, please visit the publisher's website.

The ONG contains additional photo documentation for some chapters of the book. Click on the link for a particular chapter to see these additional photos.

Other photos for possible inclusion in the ONG should be sent to the Secretariat, which will then forward them to the editors for consideration.

Table of Contents

  • Dedication
  • Preface, by Svanibor Pettan
  • Introduction, by Svanibor Pettan, Naila Ceribašić, and Don Niles
  • Abbreviations


  • Origins and Operations: Introductory Note
  • The Origins and Establishment of the International Folk Music Council, by Don Niles
  • Maud Karpeles: Her Contribution to Dance Research and to the Council, by Catherine E. Foley, Theresa Jill Buckland, Elsie Ivancich Dunin, Liz Mellish, Jeanette Mollenhauer, Derek Schofield, Stephanie Smith, Daniela Stavělová, and Ivona Opetcheska-Tatarchevska
  • The Council’s By-laws: From Provisional Constitution to Statutes, Memoranda, and Guidelines, by Don Niles
  • The World Network, by Svanibor Pettan
  • Meditating on Ideology in the History of IFMC/ICTM, by Bruno Nettl
  • The Council, the USSR, and the Issue of Political and Ideological Boundaries, by Razia Sultanova
  • ICTM Archive, by Stephen Wild, Kim Woo, and Lee Anne Proberts


  • Governance: Introductory Note


  • Ralph Vaughan Williams: IFMC President, 1947–1958, by Don Niles
  • Jaap Kunst: IFMC President, 1959–1960, by Wim van Zanten
  • Zoltán Kodály: IFMC President, 1961–1967, by Pál Richter
  • Willard Rhodes: IFMC President, 1967–1973, by Anthony Seeger
  • Klaus Wachsmann: IFMC President, 1973–1977, by Anthony Seeger
  • Poul Rovsing Olsen: IFMC/ICTM President, 1977–1982, by Peter Cooke
  • Erich Stockmann: ICTM President, 1982–1997, by Krister Malm
  • Anthony Seeger: ICTM President, 1997–1999, by Anthony Seeger
  • Krister Malm: ICTM President, 1999–2005, by Krister Malm
  • Adrienne L. Kaeppler: ICTM President, 2005–2013, by Adrienne L. Kaeppler
  • Salwa El-Shawan Castelo-Branco: ICTM President, 2013–2021, by Salwa El-Shawan Castelo-Branco

Executive Boards

  • An Overview of the IFMC/ICTM Executive Board, by Carlos Yoder


  • The Secretariat under Maud Karpeles: London, UK, 1947–1963, by Jeanette Mollenhauer
  • The Secretariat under Robin Band, Barbara Krader, Felicia Stallman, Christian Ejlers, and Connie Matthews: London, UK, and Copenhagen, Denmark, 1963–1969, by Don Niles and Carlos Yoder
  • The Secretariat under Graham George: Kingston, Canada, 1969–1980, by Beverley Diamond
  • The Secretariat under Dieter Christensen: New York, USA, 1981–2001, by Salwa El-Shawan Castelo-Branco
  • The Secretariat under Anthony Seeger: Los Angeles, USA, 2001–2005, by Anthony Seeger
  • The Secretariat under Stephen Wild: Canberra, Australia, 2006–2011, by Stephen Wild
  • The Secretariat under Svanibor Pettan: Ljubljana, Slovenia, 2011–2017, by Svanibor Pettan
  • The Secretariat under Ursula Hemetek: Vienna, Austria, 2017–2021, by Ursula Hemetek


  • Scholarly Events: Introductory Note
  • World Conferences, General Assemblies, and Festivals, by Ursula Hemetek and Krister Malm
  • Symposia, by Don Niles
  • Colloquia, by Ricardo D. Trimillos
  • Fora, by Svanibor Pettan


  • Study Groups: Introductory Note
  • ICTM Study Groups: Origins and Issues, by Don Niles



  • Committee on Radio/Television and Sound/Film Archives, by Krister Malm
  • Some Reflections Concerning the Study Group on Analysis and Systematization of Folk Music and Other Early Study Groups, by Oskár Elschek
  • ICTM Study Group on Computer Aided Research, by Ewa Dahlig-Turek


  • Publications and Expertise: Introductory Note
  • The Council’s Journal, by Don Niles
  • The Bulletin, by Ursula Hemetek and Carlos Yoder
  • Other Council Publications, by Don Niles
  • ICTM, UNESCO, and Scholarly Expertise in the 2003 Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage, by Wim van Zanten


  • ICTM and Its Members: Views from Around the World, by Kirsty Gillespie, Daniel Kodzo Avorgbedor, María Gabriela López-Yánez, Mohd Anis Md Nor, Jennifer C. Post, and Selena Rakočević
  • Contributors
  • Index of People