International Council for Traditional Music

A Non-Governmental Organization in Formal Consultative Relations with UNESCO

ICTM Article Prize

Submission Criteria and Guidelines

The International Council for Traditional Music Article Prize is awarded annually for an exceptional article. The article may have appeared in any scholarly journal (including the Yearbook for Traditional Music) or edited volume. The article should represent outstanding scholarship and make a significant contribution to the ICTM’s mission: “To promote research, documentation, safeguarding, and sustainability of music, dance, and related performing arts, taking into account the diversity of cultural practices, past and present, and scholarly traditions worldwide.”

Criteria: Articles must be published in English within the previous two calendar years. Authors (or at least one of the co-authors) must be current ICTM members. Only one article by the same author (or co-author) will be considered in a given year, and no article will be considered more than once. Members of the Prize Committee or Subcommittee may not submit articles for which they are the author or a co-author.

Submission Process: Submissions/nominations must be received by 31 January, accompanied by a brief statement (not more than 200 words) explaining why the article is worthy of being awarded the Prize. The article and statement must be submitted in PDF format to

Administration: The Prize Committee, in consultation with the Executive Board, will appoint a Subcommittee to evaluate the submissions. The winner of the previous year's Prize will be invited to join the next year's Subcommittee.

Award: The winner will receive a certificate and a two-year ICTM membership or an equivalent travel subsidy to attend an ICTM event. Prize winners will be announced at the World Conference or in the summer of a non-conference year.

Past recipients of the ICTM Article Prize



  • Marcia Ostashewski, Shaylene Johnson, Graham Marshall, and Clifford Paul. “Fostering Reconciliation through Collaborative Research in Unama’ki: Engaging Communities through Indigenous Methodologies and Research-Creation.” Yearbook for Traditional Music 52, 2020: 23–40

Honourable mention

  • Georgia Curran, Linda Barwick, Myfany Turpin, Fiona Walsh, and Mary Laughren. “Central Australian Aboriginal Songs and Biocultural Knowledge: Evidence from Women’s Ceremonies Relating to Edible Seeds.” Journal of Ethnobiology 39(3), 2019: 354–370

Read the announcement of the 2021 ICTM prizes here.


  • Tyler Yamin. “One or Several Gamelan? Perpetual (Re)construction in the Life of a Balinese Gamelan Semara Pagulingan.” Ethnomusicology 63/2 (2019): 357-392.

Read the announcement of the 2020 ICTM prizes here.