International Council for Traditions of Music and Dance

A Non-Governmental Organization in Formal Consultative Relations with UNESCO

The 2023 Election of the ICTM Executive Board

Call for Nominations

In October 2022, the Nomination Committee of the 2023 Election requested proposals for nominations to fill positions on the Executive Board which will become vacant at the time of the 46th General Assembly of Members, to be held in Legon, Ghana, on 15 July 2023.

At this time, Don Niles (Papua New Guinea) will complete his term as Vice President; while Naila Ceribašić (Croatia), Catherine Foley (Ireland), and Marie Agatha Ozah (Nigeria) will complete theirs as Ordinary Members.

Consequently, the vacant positions to fill in the 2023 election are:

  • 1 Vice President
  • 3 Ordinary Members

João Soeiro de Carvalho (Portugal) and Daniel Kodzo Avorgbedor (Ghana) will complete their terms as co-opted members to the Executive Board, and will be eligible for nomination.

The Nomination Committee of the 2023 Election is formed by Tan Sooi Beng (Malaysia, convener), Zuzana Jurkova (Czech Republic), and Elina Seye (Finland).


The following candidates were selected by the Nomination Committee from proposals made by ICTM National Committees and by individual ICTM members from at least two different countries for each proposal. All members of the Executive Board are elected for a term lasting until the second General Assembly of Members after their term has begun (typically four years), and are eligible for re‐election only once (see Statute 7.2 for details).

Candidates for Ordinary Members of the Executive Board (2023–2027)

  • Daniel K Avorgbedor (Ghana)
  • Olcay Muslu (Turkey)
  • Marie Agatha Ozah (Nigeria)
  • Tiago de Oliveira Pinto (Germany/Brazil/Afghanistan)
  • Mayco Santaella (Malaysia/Argentina)
  • Susana Sardo (Portugal)

Read all the candidates' statements here

Candidates for Vice President (2023–2027)

  • Samuel Araujo (Brazil)
  • J. Lawrence ("Larry") Witzleben (USA)

Read all the candidates' statements here

Voting procedure

The voting was conducted via Election Runner, the third-party voting platform the Council has been using since 2019. 

On 1 May 2023, all ICTM members in good standing received an email that allows voting with a unique username and password. Voting was open until 13 July 2023 at 23:59:59 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). 


A total of 702 votes were received, or 55% of the 1,277 eligible voters. It was the highest participation in an election yet, since the standardisation of voting in 2005.

The results of the election were announced during the 46th General Assembly of Members, held in Legon and online on 15 July 2023.

  • Elected Executive Board Members (2023–2027): Daniel K. Avorgbedor (Ghana), Marie Agatha Ozah (Nigeria), Susana Sardo (Portugal)
  • Elected Vice President (2023–2027): Samuel Araújo (Brazil)

Last update: 15 August 2023